Why the AOA?

Founded in 1887, The American Orthopaedic Association (AOA) is the oldest orthopaedic association in the world. At its core is its mission: "Engaging the orthopaedic community to develop leaders, strategies, and resources to guide the future of musculoskeletal care."

As leaders in orthopaedics, the AOA believed it could positively impact fragility fracture care.  It recognized:

  • the role of the orthopaedic surgeon as treating physician
  • the need for coordination of care between the orthopaedic specialty and other medical providers 

Physician Leadership

The Own the Bone program is guided by nationally-recognized bone health experts in orthopaedic surgery, endocrinology, rheumatology, women's and family health, and gerontology.

The Own the Bone Steering Committee advises on programmatic issues.

The Own the Bone Multidisciplinary Advisory Board engages the coordination aspects of an inter-specialty program.

Steering Committee

Paul A. Anderson, MD, FAOA
Chair, Own the Bone Steering Committee
University of Wisconsin

Shevaun M. Doyle, MD, FAOA
Hospital for Special Surgery 

Michael Gardner, MD, FAOA
Stanford University

Preston J. Phillips, MD, FAOA
Warren Clinic Orthopaedic Surgery & Sports Med

Frederick C. Redfern, MD, FAOA
Henderson, NV

Laura L. Tosi, MD, FAOA
Children’s National Medical Center

Eeric Truumees, MD, FAOA  
Seton Brain and Spine Institute

Douglas R. Dirschl, MD, FAOA, ex-officio
University of Chicago

Kyle J. Jeray, MD, FAOA, ex-officio
Greenville Health System

Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, FAOA, ex-officio

Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, FAOA, ex-officio
University of Minnesota

Karen S. Cummings, PA-C, Consultant
University of Michigan

Debra Sietsema, PhD, RN, Consultant
The CORE Institute

Colleen Watkins, MD, Consultant
West Virginia University

Multidisciplinary Advisory Board

Laura L. Tosi, MD, FAOA
Chair, Own the Bone MAB
Children’s National Medical Center

Neil Binkley, MD
University of Wisconsin

Felicia Cosman, MD
Columbia University

Risa Kagan, MD
UCSF East Bay Physicians Medical Group

Jeffrey P. Levine, MD, MPH
UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson 
Medical School

Jay S. Magaziner, PhD, MSHyg
University of Maryland at Baltimore

Daniel H. Solomon, MD, MPH
Harvard Medical School

Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD, FAOA
University of Minnesota

Nelson B. Watts, MD
Mercy Health

Kyle J. Jeray, MD, FAOA, ex-officio
Greenville Health System